This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Mentoring Committee
Share |


The Mentoring Committee focuses on integrating mentoring activities and conversations into the annual conference, beginning with the mentoring breakfast that pairs grad students with faculty mentors but expanding to Career Sessions/Field Conversations and other events that include members at different career stages. The committee is also exploring ways that ASTR can (1) support mentoring year-round and (2) address the particular mentoring needs of under-represented minorities, first-generation students, people with disabilities, and neurodivergent individuals in order to increase diversity within the Society and in our field.

Committee Members

Tracy Davis (Committee Chair), Professor, Northwestern University
Henry Bial, Professor, University of Kansas
Ann White, Associate Professor, Michigan State University
Ana Martinez, Adjunct Instructor, University of Arizona
Ryan Hartigan, Associate Professor, Cornish College of the Arts
Alex Ripp, Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Jason James Fitzgerald, Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Pittsburgh
Aparna Dharwadker, Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Executive Committee representative
Hala Baki, PhD Candidate, University of California, Santa Barbara, GSC representative


ABCs of Mentoring (pdf)

© 2019  American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR). All Rights Reserved.

Home | Member Login | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061
Phone: +1 628-222-4088 | Email: