This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Share |

The American Society for Theatre Research sponsors or coordinates several awards, grants, fellowships, and prizes to support and recognize outstanding scholarship in theatre and performance studies. Follow the links below to read more about each award, including purpose, history, application or nomination procedures, and the selection process. If you have questions, please contact the VP for Awards at awards[at]

2021 Deadlines
Publication & Presentation Prizes: April 20, 2021
Research Grants & Travel Awards: July 16, 2021

Awards, Fellowships, and Grants

Publication & Presentation Prizes (for Your Work)

ATHE-ASTR Award for Excellence in Digital Scholarship
Deadline: February 2021

Sally Banes Publication Prize
Deadline: April 20, 2021

Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize
Deadline: April 20, 2021

Cambridge University Press Prize
Deadline: 2022

Distinguished Scholar Award
Deadline: April 20, 2021

Barnard Hewitt Award
Deadline: April 20, 2021

Errol Hill Award
Deadline: April 20, 2021

Gerald Kahan Scholar's Prize
Deadline: April 20, 2021

ASTR Translation Prize
Deadline: April 20, 2021

Research Grants

The ASTR Collaborative Research Award
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Co-Sponsored Events Awards
First Deadline: March 1, 2021
Second Deadline: July 16, 2021

Jessica Berson Dance Research Award
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Grants for Researchers with Heavy Teaching Loads
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Helen Krich Chinoy Dissertation Research Fellowships
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Brooks McNamara Publishing Subvention
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Research Fellowships
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Targeted Research Areas Grants
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Travel Awards

Selma Jeanne Cohen Conference Presentation Award
Deadline: July 16, 2021

David Keller Travel Grants
Deadline: July 16, 2021

Thomas Marshall Graduate Student Awards
Deadline: July 16, 2021

© 2020  American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR). All Rights Reserved.

Home | Member Login | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061
Phone: +1 628-222-4088 | Email: