This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Errol Hill Award
Share |


The Errol Hill Award is given in recognition of outstanding scholarship in African American theater, drama, and/or performance studies, as demonstrated in the form of a published book-length project (monograph or essay collection) or scholarly article. The Errol Hill awardee will receive a free conference registration. Beginning in 2018, in even numbered years the prize will recognize essays published in the past 2 years, and in odd-numbered years the prize will recognize books published in the past 2 years. The book or article must have been published during the eligibility window, and deal with African American theater history, dramatic literature, or performance studies (research on dance, acting and directing, public performances, i.e., parades, pageants, etc.).


Nominations may come from the author of the work to be considered or the publisher. For 2021, the book must have been published in 2019 or 2020, but all scholars are eligible – whether or not they are affiliated with a university or tenured. Essay nominations should be held for the 2022 award cycle.


Authors and/or publishers should send one copy of each book they wish to be considered to each member of the Errol Hill Award Committee. Each committee member’s address will be listed on the confirmation page after submitting the nomination.


The winning book or essay will be judged based on:

  • Originality within the broad field of African American theater and performance;
  • Critical rigor;
  • Demonstrated expertise with related research in African American theater and performance; and
  • Potential for encouraging future scholarship that will strengthen the field.

Please direct questions to Committee Chair Uri McMillan at umcmillan[at]


Submissions are due April 20, 2021. Early submission is encouraged.

View previous Errol Hill Award recipients »

© 2020  American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR). All Rights Reserved.

Home | Member Login | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061
Phone: +1 628-222-4088 | Email: