This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Committees & Appointments
Share |

ASTR relies upon the participation of its members in many committees that help to sustain the organization and award the prizes that support our members’ research efforts and scholarly accomplishments.

The Standing, Regular and Ad Hoc Committees are created by the Officers and Executive Committee to carry out the work of ASTR. The President appoints members to these committees as well as to the other posts listed further below, which include delegates, editors and liaisons. All terms begin and end at the business meeting in November of the designated year, unless otherwise noted.

Standing Committees

Nominating Committee

Adam Versenyi, Chair (2021)
Yumi Pak (2021)
Stacy Wolf (2021)
Anita Gonzalez (2022)
Kareem Kubchandani (2022)

2020 Conference Program Selection Committee

Jimmy Noriega, College of Wooster, Chair
Jade Power-Sotomayor, University of California San Diego
Lindsey Barr, University of Maryland at College Park
Francesca Marini, Texas A&M University

2020 Conference Program Chairs

Soyica Colbert, Georgetown University
Douglas Jones, Jr., Rutgers University
Shane Vogel, Indiana University Bloomington

2020 Conference Program Committee

Joshua Chambers-Letson, Northwestern University
Julia Fawcett, UC-Berkeley
Ellen MacKay, University of Chicago
Patrick Maley, Centenary College
Jade Power-Sotomayor, University of California San Diego
Alexis Riley, University of Texas, Austin
Rachel Smiley, AMDA College and Conservatory of the Performing Arts
Catherine Young, Princeton Writing Program
Jimmy A. Noriega, College of Wooster, ex officio

2020 Field Conversations Committee

Noe Montez, Tufts University, Chair
Margaret Werry, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities, Executive Committee Representative
Quianru Li, University of California, Irvina, Graduate Student Caucus Representative
Diana King, UCLA, Theatre Library Association Representative
Daphne Sicre, Loyola Marymount University

Ad Hoc Committees

For additional information and resources shared by ASTR’s ad hoc committees, please click the links below:

Empowerment Committee
Membership Committee
Mentoring Committee
New Paradigms in Graduate Education Committee
Transnational Committee

Awards Committees

Publication & Presentation Prizes

Sally Banes Publication Prize

Jade Power-Sotomayor (2020)
Katherine Profeta (2021)
Anthea Kraut (2022)

Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize

Angela Marino (2020)
Megan Sanborn Jones (2021)
Lisa Merrill (2022)

Cambridge University Press Prize

Will Daddario (2021)
Brandi Wilkins Catanese (2021)
Pannill Camp (2022)

Distinguished Scholar Award

Sandra Richards (2020)
Elinor Fuchs (2021)
Rhonda Blair (2022)

Barnard Hewitt Award

Satoko Shimazaki (2020)
Kirsten Pullen (2020)
Tavia Nyong'o (2022)
Brian Herrera (2022)

Errol Hill Award

Uri McMillan (2020)
Kellen L. Hoxworth (2021)
Christian DuComb (2021)

Gerald Kahan Scholar's Prize

Dani Snyder-Young (2021)
Leo Cabranes Grant (2022)
Paul Bonin-Rodriguez (2022)

Research Grants

ASTR Collaborative Research Award

Carla Della Gatta (2020)
Lindsay Hunter (2021)
Laura MacDonald (2022)

Grants for Researchers with Heavy Teaching Loads

Ariel Nereson (2020)
Sharon Mazer (2022)
Bertie Ferdman (2022)

Helen Krich Chinoy Dissertation Research Fellowships

Tara Rodman (2020)
Amy Cook (2021)
Jason Shaffer (2022)

Brooks McNamara Publishing Subvention, Research Fellowships, and Targeted Research Areas Grants

Arnab Banerji (2020)
Chloe Johnston (2021)
Mina Kyounghye Kwon (2022)

Travel Awards

Selma Jeanne Cohen Conference Presentation Award

Jade Power-Sotomayor (2020)
Katherine Profeta (2021)
Anthea Kraut (2022)

David Keller Travel Grants and Thomas Marshall Graduate Student Awards

Meredith Conti (2020)
Kyna Hamill (2021)
Gad Guterman (2022)

ATAP (American Theatre Archive Project)

Michael Valdez, Administrator
Susan Brady, Member
Ken Cerniglia, Member
Christa Williford, Member
Colleen Reilly, Member
Helice Koffler, Member
Kate Bredeson, Executive Committee

Graduate Student Caucus

Ahmed Asi, President
Lindsey Barr, Vice President, Rep. to the Conference Program Selection Committee
Alexis Riley, Vice President, Rep. to the Program Committeee
Kelley Holley, Rep. to the New Paradigms in Graduate Education Committee
Shadow Zimmerman, Secretary/Historian
Qianru Liu, Inclusion Officer

Individual Appointments

Archivist and Historian: Jyana Browne (2022)
ATAP: Michael Valdez
Theatre Survey: Marlis Schweitzer (Editor), Brandi Wilkins Catanese (Associate Editor), and Donovan Sherman (Book Review)
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Delegate:
Consortium of Doctoral Programs Liaison:
Archive Committee / ATAP: Eric Colleary and Christa Williford

Leadership Summit

  • African Theatre Association: Kene Igweonu, President
  • American Alliance for Theatre Education: Jenn Katona, Chair
  • American Society for Theatre Research: Marla Carlson, President
  • American Theatre and Drama Society: Lisa Jackson-Schebetta, Chair
  • Association for Asian Performance: Jennifer Goodlander, President
  • Association for Nordic Theatre Scholars: Magnús Þorbergsson, President
  • Association for Theatre in Higher Education: Joshua Abrams, President
  • Black Theatre Network: Monica White Ndounou
  • Canadian Association for Theatre Research: Erin Hurley, President
  • Dance Studies Association: Melissa Blanco Borelli, President
  • International Federation for Theatre Research: Elaine Aston, President
  • Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas: Martine Kei Green-Rogers, President
  • Mid America Theatre Conference: Chris Woodworth, President
  • Performance Studies International: Pil Hansen, President
  • Society for Dance Research: Lise Uytterhoeven, Chair
© 2020  American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR). All Rights Reserved.

Home | Member Login | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
P.O. Box 922 | Santa Cruz, CA 95061
Phone: +1 628-222-4088 | Email: