Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Errol Hill Award
Share |


The Errol Hill Award is given in recognition of outstanding scholarship in African American theater, drama, and/or performance studies, as demonstrated in the form of a published book-length project (monograph or essay collection) or scholarly article. Beginning in 2018, in even numbered years the prize will recognize essays published in the past 2 years, and in odd-numbered years the prize will recognize books published in the past 2 years. The book or article must have been published during the eligibility window, and deal with African American theater history, dramatic literature, or performance studies (research on dance, acting and directing, public performances, i.e., parades, pageants, etc.).


For 2018, the essay (from a journal or book) must have been published in 2016 or 2017, but all scholars are eligible - whether or not they are affiliated with a university or tenured.


Nominations can come from the author of the work to be considered, any member of ASTR, the editor of a journal in which an essay has appeared, or a book publisher. (Essay nominations are limited in an authors can have only one essay considered, and journal editors can nominate only one essay per volume.) Authors and/or publishers who are nominating books should send one copy to each member of the committee. Each committee member’s address will be listed on the confirmation page after submitting this form. Essay nominations should not be sent to individual committee members, they should be uploaded as a .pdf attachment on the application page.


The winning book or essay will be judged based on

  • Originality within the broad field of African American theater and performance;
  • Critical rigor;
  • Demonstrated expertise with related research in African American theater and performance; and
  • Potential for encouraging future scholarship that will strengthen the field.

Please direct questions to Committee Chair Douglas Jones at


The deadline for 2018 nominations has passed.

View previous Errol Hill Award winners here.

© 2018 American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR). All Rights Reserved.

Home | Member Login | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252, Saint Paul, MN 55114
Phone: 651-288-3429 | Fax: 651-290-2266 | Email: