Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize
Share |


The Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize is jointly awarded by the American Society for Theatre Research and the Oscar G. Brockett Center for Theatre History and Criticism at the University of Texas-Austin. The prize of $1,500 ($1,000 from the Brockett Center and $500 from ASTR) recognizes the best essay written and published in English in a refereed scholarly journal or volume published by a scholarly press and relating to any subject in theatre research, broadly construed. The Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize presentation at the ASTR annual meeting includes an acknowledgement of the editor's contribution to the work.


Essays must have been published in the 2017 calendar year. Author must not have received the Brockett Essay prize in the past 3 years.


Nominations may come from the author of an essay, any member of ASTR, or the editor of a journal or volume in which the essay has appeared. The author must have been a member of ASTR for at least 3 of the last 6 years and be at least seven years beyond the PhD. Authors may have only one essay considered per year. Editors may nominate one essay per volume. Essays and any other documents should uploaded below. Documents should be uploaded in PDF or Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx) format.


The winning essay will be judged for its originality, critical rigor, fluency in related research, and significance to the field.

Please direct questions to Committee Chair James Harding at


Please have your submissions by April 19, 2018.

View previous Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize winners here.

Current Page
Missing or invalid required information

| Save and Continue Later

© 2018 | American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)

All rights reserved.

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite. 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 651.288.3429 | Fax: 651.290.2266 | Email: