Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Gerald Kahan Scholar's Prize
Share |


The American Society for Theatre Research offers an annual award for the best essay written and published in English in a refereed scholarly journal. The essay can be on any subject in theater research, broadly construed. The Kahan Prize presentation at the ASTR annual meeting includes an acknowledgement of the editor’s contribution to scholarship.


The author must be untenured and within seven years of the doctorate, or must be enrolled in a doctoral program, at the time the essay is published. Eligible articles must have appeared in 2015.


Nominations may come from the author of an essay, any member of ASTR, or the editor of a journal in which the essay has appeared. Authors may nominate only one essay. Editors may nominate one essay per volume.

All documents (essays, cover letters, etc.) should be uploaded below. Documents should be sent in Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) or Microsoft Word (.doc or docx) format.


The winning essay will be judged as displaying originality in the broad field of theatre and performance, exhibiting critical rigor, showing an acquaintance with related research in theatre and performance, and promising future professional development in the field. Essays will be assessed by a committee consisting of Diana Looser (chair), Michael Chemers, and Jocelyn Buckner. Questions may be directed to Diana Looser.

View previous Gerald Kahan Scholar's Prize Award winners here.

The deadline for this award has passed.

© 2017 | American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)

All rights reserved.

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite. 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 651.288.3429 | Fax: 651.290.2266 | Email: