Join | Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In
Committees & Appointments
Share |

ASTR relies upon the participation of its members in many committees that help to sustain the organization and award the prizes that support our members’ research efforts and scholarly accomplishments.

The Standing, Regular and Ad Hoc Committees are created by the Officers and Executive Committee to carry out the work of ASTR. The President appoints members to these committees as well as to the other posts listed further below, which include delegates, editors and liaisons. All terms begin and end at the business meeting in November of the designated year, unless otherwise noted.

Standing Committees

Nominating Committee

Monica Ndounou, (Chair, 2017)
Shannon Walsh
Jennifer Goodlander
David Saltz

2017 Committee on Conferences

Jill Stevenson, Marymount Manhattan College, Chair
Carol Martin, New York University
Noe Montez, Tufts University
Jen-Scott Mobley, East Carolina University
Jimmy A. Noriega, The College of Wooster
Analola Santana, Dartmouth College
Joshua Abrams, Royal Central School of Speech & Drama, University of London
Sissi Liu, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Diana King, University of California, Los Angeles
Mike Sell, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Elizabeth Osborne, Florida State University

2017 Conference Program Chairs

Jimmy A. Noriega, The College of Wooster
Jen-Scott Mobley, East Carolina University
Analola Santana, Dartmouth College

2017 Conference Program Committee

Jill Stevenson, Marymount Manhattan College, ex officio
Patrick Anderson, University of California San Diego
Faedra Chatard Carpenter, University of Maryland
Catherine Cole, University of Washington
Laura Edmondson, Dartmouth College
Gad Guterman, Webster University
Ric Knowles, University of Guelph
Carrie Sandahal, University of Illinois Chicago
Karen Shimakawa, New York University
Harvey Young, Northwestern University
Rena Heinrich, University of California, Santa Barbara (GSC rep)
Doug Reside, New York Public Library (TLA rep)
Mike Sell, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (Committee on Conferences Rep)
Sissi Liu, The Graduate Center, CUNY (Committee on Conferences Rep)

Awards Committees

Distinguished Scholar Award

David Savran, Chair (2017)
Gay Cima (2018)
Susan Bennett (2019)

Barnard Hewitt Award

Shannon Steen, Chair (2017)
Patrick Anderson (2018)
Claudia Nascimento (2019)
Valleri Robinson (2018)

Errol Hill Award

Ramon Rivera-Servera, Chair (2017)
Douglas Jones (2018)
Heather Nathans (2019)

Oscar G. Brockett Essay Award

Rhona Justice-Malloy, Chair (2017)
James Harding (2018)
Ryan Claycomb (2019)

Gerald Kahan Scholar's Prize

Michael Chemers, Chair (2017)
Jocelyn Buckner (2018)
Beth Osborne (2019)

Sally Banes and Selma Jean Cohen

Katherine Mezur, Chair (2018)
Susan Tenneriello (2018)
Jade Power Sotomayor (2019)

Cambridge University Press Prize

Naomi Bragin, Chair (2017)
Sebastian Calderon Bentin (2018)
Nicholas Ridout (2017)

Research Fellowship, Targeted Research Areas Grant, and Brooks McNamara Subvention

David Roman, Chair (2017)
Stephanie Etheridge Woodson (2018)
Miriam Felton-Dansky (2019)

ASTR Collaborative Research Grants

Karen Jean Martinson, Chair (2017)
Stefka Mihaylova (2018)
Aaron Thomas (2019)

Grants for Researchers with Heavy Teaching Loads

Virginia Anderson, Chair (2017)
Samer Al-Saber (2018)
Lezlie Cross (2019)

Helen Krich Chinoy Dissertation Research Fellowships

Faedra Carpenter, Chair (2017)
Donavan Sherman (2019)
Katherine Zien (2019)

David Keller and Thomas Marshall Travel Grants

Jane Duncan, Chair (2017)
Kimi Johnson (2018)
Takeo Rivera (2019)

ATAP (American Theatre Archive Project)

Daphne Lei (Delagate)
Kevin Brown (Liaison)

Graduate Student Caucus

Yasmine Jahanmir (President)
Sissi Liu
Rena Heinrich
Kat Lieder
Joseph D'Ambrosi

Individual Appointments

Administrator: Eric Ewald, CAE, Ewald Consulting
Archivist and Historian: Heather Nathans
Career Sessions Coordinators: Paige McGinley & Gad Guterman
Director of Awards and Fellowships: Brandi Wilkins Catanese
Theatre Survey: Nicholas Ridout (editor), Marlis Schweitzer (Associate Editor)
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Delegate: Daphne Lei
National Humanities Alliance Delegate: Jill Stevenson
IFTR Liaison: Jean Graham-Jones
TLA's Liaison to ASTR: Wade Hollinghaus
American Alliance for Theatre Education (AATE) and International Theatre for Young Audiences Research Network (ITYARN) Liaison: Mary McAvoy
Archive Committee / ATAP: Eric Colleary & Christa Williford

© 2017 | American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)

All rights reserved.

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite. 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114 | Phone: 651.288.3429 | Fax: 651.290.2266 | Email: