Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Research Fellowships
Share |

Deadline: March 15, 2014

Purpose: The purpose of the ASTR Research Fellowships is to underwrite some of the research expenses of scholars undertaking projects significant to the field of theatre and/or performance studies. The total award of up to $3000 may be divided among multiple winners. The fellowships can be used in conjunction with funding from other sources. Eligibility: Anyone holding a terminal degree and who has been a member of ASTR for at least three years is eligible to apply. Rank and institutional affiliation are not considered. 

Application: A complete application should consist of the following:

  • a 150-word abstract of the project;
  • a longer but concise narrative description of the project, indicating its procedures, goals, and significance within the field of theater/performance studies;
  • a budget for the project, indicating the portion of expenses that ASTR funds will be used to underwrite, such as travel, reproductions, etc.;
  • a two-page curriculum vitae;
  • and, three letters of support from scholars in the proposed or related fields of study.

All documents (applications, curriculum vitae, etc.) should be sent by e-mail directly to Shaun Franklin-Sewell, ASTR Webmaster, at Documents should be sent in Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) or Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx) format. On the subject line, include the applicant's last name, the name of the award, and the type of document attached.

To maintain confidentiality, referees should send supporting letters directly to Shaun Franklin-Sewell at Referees should include the applicant's last name, the name of the award, and "reference" on the subject line of their e-mail. 

Evaluation: Applications will be assessed by a committee consisting of Shane Vogel (chair), Carol Martin, and Jen-Scott Mobley. Committee members will consider the merit of the project within the field of theater/performance studies and of the individual scholar's academic research endeavors. Please direct questions to Shane Vogel at

Notification: All applicants will be informed by May 1, 2014.

Past Winners

Sara Brady

Claudia Rene Wier

Stuart Hecht

Matthew Schifflett

Kathleen Johnson

Jill Stevenson

Catherine Schuler

Carol Sorgenfrei

Eng-Beng Lim

Sonja Kuftinec

Manon Van De Water

Heather Nathans

Gary Jay Williams

Edward Ziter

Virginia Scott

Annemarie Bean

Kevin J. Wetmore

Sharon Carnicke

Laurence Senelick

Gay Gibson Cima

Catherine Schuler

Phillip Zarrilli

Rosemarie Bank

Richard W. Schoch

   Home | Join ASTR | Sign In | For Members | For Graduate Students | Contact Us

    Mission Statement
    The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical
     and contemporary.

    Phone: 651.288.3429 | Fax: 651.290.2266
    1000 Westgate Dr. | Ste. 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114
    © 2013-2015 American Society for Theatre Research.
    Content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 3.0 License.