Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize
Share |

Deadline: May 15, 2014

Purpose: The Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize is jointly awarded by the American Society for Theatre Research and the Oscar G. Brockett Center for Theatre History and Criticism at the University of Texas-Austin. The prize of $1,500 ($1,000 from the Brockett Center and $500 from ASTR) recognizes the best essay  written and published in English in a refereed scholarly journal or volume published by a scholarly press and relating to any subject in theatre research, broadly construed. The Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize presentation at the ASTR annual meeting includes an acknowledgement of the editor's contribution to the work. 

Eligibility: The author must have been a member of ASTR for at least three years and be at least seven years beyond the Ph.D. Essays must have been published in the calendar year preceding the year in which the award is given. Essays in edited anthologies may not have appeared elsewhere previously.

Nomination: Nominations may come from the author of an essay, any member of ASTR, or the editor of a journal or volume in which the essay has appeared. Authors may nominate only one essay. Editors may nominate one essay per volume. Essays and any other documents should be sent by e-mail directly to Shaun Franklin-Sewell, ASTR Webmaster, at Documents should be sent in Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx). On the subject line, please include the applicant's last name, the name of the award, and the type of document attached.

Notification: Submissions are due no later than May 15, 2014, and determinations will be made no later than September 1. 

Evaluation: The winning essay will be judged for its originality, critical rigor, fluency in related research, and significance to the field. Essays will be assessed by a committee consisting of Amy Holzapfel (chair), Kimberly Jannarone, and Elaine Aston. Please direct questions to Amy Holzapfel at

Past Winners

2014: Marvin Carlson, “The Arab Aristophanes,” published in Comparative Drama 47:2 (2013), (Elizabeth Bradburn, ed.)

2014 Honorable Mention: Aparna Dharwdker, "Modernism, 'Tradition,' and History in the Postcolony: Vijay Tendulkar's Ghashiram kotwal (1972)," published in Theatre Journal 65:4 (2013), (Penny Farfan, ed.)

2013: Richard Schoch, “Inventing the Origins of Theatre History: The Modern Uses of Juba II’s theatriké historia,” published in the Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism 27.1 (Fall 2012): 5-23, (Scott Magelssen, ed.)

: Gary Jay Williams, "Edwin Booth: What They Also Saw When They Saw Booth’s Hamlet,” in Macready, Booth, Terry, Irving, Vol. VI of Great Shakespeareans (Continuum, 2011), (Richard Schoch, ed.)

2012 Honorable Mention: Leo Cabranes-Grant, "From Scenarios to Networks: Performing the Intercultural in Colonial Mexico,” Theatre Journal 63 (2011), (Penny Farfan, ed.)

2011: Elaine Aston, "Feeling the Loss of Feminism: Sarah Kane’s Blasted and an Experimental Genealogy of Contemporary Women’s Playwriting,” Theatre Journal 62 (2010) 575-591 (Penny Farfan and Lesley Ferris, eds.)

2011 Honorable Mention: Sarah Bey-Cheng and Amy Strahler Holzapfel, "The Living Theatre: A Brief History of a Bodily Metaphor,” Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism

2010: Andrew Sofer, "How To Do Things With Demons: Conjuring Performatives in Doctor Faustus," Theatre Journal 61 (2009), (Catherine Schuler, ed.)


   Home | Join ASTR | Sign In | For Members | For Graduate Students | Contact Us

    Mission Statement
    The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical
     and contemporary.

    Phone: 651.288.3429 | Fax: 651.290.2266
    1000 Westgate Dr. | Ste. 252 | St. Paul, MN 55114
    © 2013-2015 American Society for Theatre Research.
    Content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 3.0 License.